20150829_135531I’ve been experimenting with GF baking for a few years now. I tend to lean towards almond flour as a base with other GF flours mixed in. I’ve found mixing the different flours produces a better texture. However, I’ve made this recipe from King Arthur’s flour a few times now and wanted to share. The only modifications I’ve made to it is adding 1.5 cups of shredded coconut to the batter and substituted soy milk for the milk. I typically double the recipe and it produces 24 cupcakes. Don’t be concerned – there’s a lot of liquid in this recipe and the key is getting the lumps out of the batter – slow and steady without overbeating the eggs. I’ve noticed the cooking time is off – I started with 18 minutes and ended up around 28 minutes for the cupcakes. You may notice the same.

True to the pictures on their website, these cupcakes have a great rise and result in fluffy, crumbly cupcakes. What if you made too many? No worries, these cupcakes freeze GREAT. Topped with a simple cream cheese frosting (8oz cream cheese, 1/2 c. butter, 1 TBSP lemon juice, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp almond extract, 3.5 cups of powdered sugar) and toasted coconut (I toast half the coconut and the mix with non-toasted). They’re always a hit and no one ever thinks they’re ACTUALLY gluten free because of the lift and crumble.

Need a cake? Simply double the recipe and use two 8″ round cake pans. This recipe is GREAT to use as a base. Use a custard or whipped cream filling or even a fruit filling between the layers.

