For Christmas gifts this year, I made a suite of homemade body products. I’ll be blogging about some of them in the near future, but the one I’d love to share first is my homemade “ouch ointment.” I researched recipes on the web, poured over my herbal medicine books, and then made three subsequent batches, tweaking each until I created THE one. A salve that was soothing to my sensitive skin, could be used on burns (Neosporen cannot be used on burns) as well as scrapes and cuts. The recipe below is my own concoction, but built upon several recipes I’d found on the web.

Disclaimer: I’ve been using this batch since mid-December and while I’ve found it to be quite effective on both burns and cuts, the results were from home “testing” and the salve was not created or tested in a lab.

Price: The shopping list is a bit long and not inexpensive as I used high-quality organic oils and herbs. I estimate each 4 oz container to cost six dollars and the batch below made five 4 oz containers. A little goes a long way and I anticipate it will be ‘good’ for at least a year as I store it in the fridge.

Recipe
1.5 c. coconut oil
1.5 c. olive oil
1/4 c. beeswax
4 oz. raw honey

Dried herbs:
1/3 c. Calendula flowers
1/4 oz. Comfrey
1/4 oz. Marshmallow root
1/4 oz. Wormwood

Essential oils:
15 drops tea tree oil
15 drops lavender essential oil
20 drops arnica oil

Heat the coconut and olive on in a double boiler and add the herbs. Simmer on low for 2 hours, then remove from heat. Let the herbs steep in the oil overnight then strain, discarding the herbs.

Place the oils in the double boiler and add the beeswax, stirring occasionally until the beeswax is melted.
Remove from heat and allow to cool for 15 minutes. Add in raw honey and essential oils. Blend well with a whisk, place into containers, and allow the mixture to cool completely and ‘firm up’ before putting on the lids. The salve has the consistency of a thick ointment and will have a green color (result of the olive oil and infused herbs).

If you use this recipe, I’d love to hear your results. I’ve made two more batches of this recipe with consistent results.

