10 cubic feet with abundant freezer space, low operational costs, and pretty functional given the small cf.
10 cubic feet with abundant freezer space, low operational costs, and pretty functional given the small cf.

It’s been a year since I ordered this fridge for the kitchen remodel. While unpacking groceries today, it occurred to me I should share my thoughts about it. Excuse the old photo of the front; I lost good light.

Nearly everyone who has seen the fridge has asked me if I like it and/or regret getting ‘such a small fridge.’ Then, they see the inside and everyone agrees, it holds a lot more than they anticipated and that the freezer space’s organization (three drawers) greatly increases the storage functionality.

The overall capacity is 10 cu ft.; the fridge’s capacity is 6.3 cu ft. and the freezer’s capacity is 3.7 cu ft. It has a small footprint (24.5″ deep, 23.5″ wide, and the height of a standard fridge (67.5″).

The quick freeze tray (above the three full-sized drawers) is also a cool feature that is particularly handy during the summer months. Overall, I’ve been amazed at how much I can fit into the freezer drawers. It is because of its capacity, I now keep a well-stocked and well-organized freezer full of frozen veggies and Trader Joe’s Indian food.

You can fit a lot in 10 cubic feet - two weeks of groceries and abundant freezer space
You can fit a lot in 10 cubic feet – two weeks of groceries and abundant freezer space

I am very pleased with my choice. This pic shows the fridge filled up from today’s shopping trip. One of the things I like most about owning this fridge, I shop smarter and don’t overbuy. With two large veggie bins and another smaller bin (2nd shelf down) for meat/cheese/more delicate fruit and veggies, I don’t want for space. However, it doesn’t hold so much that I forget about items in the back, etc. Partially because of wonky work travel and long days, I used to shop less often and let a lot of perishable food go to waste.

I now use what I buy. It’s hard to see in the pic, but there’s a rotisserie chicken on the second shelf, a dozen eggs and 2lbs. of butter on the top shelf along with some short-bottled condiments. Now, I shop every two weeks, picking up a gallon of milk and container of yogurt once a week.

Oh, I should mention, the fridge doesn’t FIT a gallon of milk. So, I buy a gallon and divide it into two milk bottles (visible in the door) I purchased at Cost Plus and a smaller milk jug I take to work every Monday for my daily coffee fix.

The fridge has curbed my desire to buy a bizillion condiments and also, I resist the urge to load up on too many perishables just because they are available at the market – thus keeping me from buying too much and letting  food go waste. I’ve read online reviews for this fridge that suggest it’s air circulation system helps keep fruits and veggies fresher longer. I don’t know if that’s the case or not.

Completed kitchen - with new fridge (and dishwasher!). December 2013
Completed kitchen – with new fridge (and dishwasher!). December 2013

While I hope to not be in the market for a fridge for a long time, when I am, I’ll repurchase this model or similar. I often recommend it to folks who don’t want their kitchen overwhelmed by a big fridge. I live in a small house and while I have a decent sized kitchen, it’s a galley and the old fridge looked not only out of place, but it’s wide door would block the doorway into the living room. Sure, if you have a large family, this fridge isn’t the one for you. In interest of full disclosure, I DO have a second 10 cu ft fridge in the garage – it is shorter and wider than this one. I do not use the garage fridge as overflow for groceries; it is stocked full of beer and wine left over from previous parties. I use its lower veggie drawers to stash my baking chocolate.

I special ordered my LG fridge through Sears and got it on sale for $699. With an extended warranty, the price came in just under $900.00. Sears doesn’t always carry this model in the store and because of that, I read a lot of online reviews and gave the purchase a lot of thought prior to ordering. I checked around at many appliance stores and couldn’t find a model similar or as stylish – most of them looked like sad little apartment fridges.

