20131029_195325
Ground turkey empanadas

So, I was going to make a large jack-o-lantern empanada for the Halloween party last weekend, but time got away from me. As I had all the ingredients, I made empanadas for knit night. They were a hit and perfect for a fall evening. They can be made ahead of time and frozen (unbaked) and leftovers will keep in the fridge for a few days.

I borrowed heavily from this recipe, modified it using ground turkey and added 2 additional hard-boiled eggs, olives, celery, a 15 oz. can of black beans, and carrots. The recipe (with additions mentioned) made approximately 36 empanadas. Anticipating I’d need more dough, I made a triple batch.

They were NOT time consuming to make and as I used my food processor to make the dough, easy peasy. As the dough chilled in the fridge, I made the filling.

20131029_185855
The filling
Martini glasses make great dough circle cutters
Martini glasses make great dough circle cutters
Once cut, rolled out a bit more
Once cut, rolled out a bit more. Have I mentioned recently how much I love my marble counters?

Rolled out the dough, placed about 2 TBSP of filling onto each circle, folded the dough, applied egg wash, and baked in a 400F oven for 25 minutes.

20131029_192854

As you can see, we are a VERY serious group. Ha.

