Chicken headed into the oven
Chicken headed into the oven

Okay, folks, let me remind you, I’m a much better baker than I am a cook. However, with some free time on my hands, I’m working to change that. I’m not a terrible cook, I just need good, simple recipes, and time. Last week, I found this recipe for roast chicken and decided it was high time I learned how to roast a whole chicken.

I always thought it was hard… it’s not. It’s a bit gross cleaning out the chicken and later, carving it when it’s done, but it’s not hard. I used this recipe and modified it minimally by grinding my own chili mix using an assortment of dried chilies  adding 2 halves of a lemon to the cavity along with the cilantro, and cooking it all on a bed of potatoes, onion, celery, and carrots.

roast chicken
Out of the oven

The picture does NOT do it justice. The top looks burned in the phone, but it wasn’t. The skin was crisp and delicious and the meat itself was moist and not the least bit dry.

I rely heavily on my meat thermometer to keep me from drying out meat during the cooking process. Since I started using one, I’ve not ruined anything I’ve roasted.

The ingredient list was short: 1 lemon, 1 bunch of cilantro, a few TBSP of chili powder, salt, pepper, 1 onion, a few stalks of celery, a few carrots, and 4 potatoes. I made bread to go along with the chicken and veggies. The meal was delicious. With the left over chicken, I whipped up a few pot pies which are in the freezer and made chicken stalk by boiling the carcass with more chopped celery, onion, and carrots.

I apologize for the poor quality images. I’d lost my camera battery charger back in early December and have been relying on my cell phone… let’s just say, Android photo quality bites.

