Since the second week of December, I’ve knitted six hats and one pair of wrist warmers. Prior to this flurry, I’d not knitted for a year. I guess that really sums up how wonky 2012 was for me. I was under a lot of stress and worked too much and spent much of my down time thinking about work too. Sure, I did a few things around the house and saw friends, hosted a few guests over the summer, but I didn’t have a lot of time to do things that I truly love.

I found a free pattern on Knitty for a slouch hat beret. I altered the pattern by simply extending the moss stitch portion of the pattern by 6 rows (when knitting the medium size). I thought if I knitted the large version, it would be too big around the temples and wouldn’t sit well on the head.

Ski's slouch hat beret
Ski’s slouch hat beret

The first went to Ski. I made it with a double strand of alpaca yarn—one blue, one green.

I then knitted the same hat for my cousin, Jaime, for Christmas. Her version was made using 2 different shades of blue, both fingering weight alpaca. I also knitted my mom a deep red one using a wool silk blend.  Next, I knitted one for Sarah, blending two shades of green, using fingering weight alpaca. Have you guessed yet… I have a large stash of fingering weight alpaca yarn. Ha.

Next, I knitted the same hat using a red tweed wool yarn. In addition, I found an online pattern generator for wrist warmers based upon needle size and gauge. I couldn’t knit a completely plain pair of ribbed wrist warmers, so I added a little cable twist every few rows.

fingerless gloves and hat
Hat and wrist warmers
IMG_20121227_040902
Red tweed slouch hat beret

Next, I knitted a hat for the lovely Guphy, using the same yarn but a different pattern. It’s the hat featured on the front cover. It is also a slouch hat, but without the beret-like shaping.

Lastly, I designed a beanie for my friend Linda for the dog park. Using worsted weight charcoal grey wool yarn and my love of cables, I knitted a hat that would keep her warm on our nightly dog park laps.

Linda's beanie
Linda’s charcoal grey beanie

Again, my apologies for the poor-quality images. You’d think I was a bit burned out on the knitting front, but actually, I’m just getting started… I’ve got a few more hats I want to get done before I move onto a pair of fingerless gloves. Happy knitting, everyone!

