marquee 12.23.10I know that sometimes I gush about how much I love Sacramento while not offering up why. Well, dear readers, here’s reason 365 why Sacramento rocks.

The Crest theatre was built in 1946, closed in the 7os, and re-opened in 1986. In 1995, it was restored back to its 1940’s glamor. The art deco interior is warm and inviting. I’ve been here for a few shows in the past including the Avett brothers earlier this year.

Last week, my friend, the lovely Ms. Schmiedt got us together to see White Christmas at the Crest. The week before, The Christmas Story was shown. Apparently, every holiday season, a few days before Christmas, the Crest plays either White Christmas or It’s a Wonderful Life.

Why I didn’t know about this for the last eight Christmases, I have no idea. However, there was NO way I was going to miss out on this!

2010-12-23_window displayBefore the show, I took a few minutes to look at the window display put on by Sacramento County’s Historical Society. They refurbished the old dolls and placed them in the old Woolworth’s windows. As K Street is a pedestrian walk way (for now, fingers crossed), one could step back in time to the mid-50s and enjoy Christmas as others could have half a century before.

I will admit, after the show, we had another look at the window displays. The lights were off and the characters’ eyes were wide open. That was a bit creepy. Shiver.  Best to see them with the lights on. Eeek.

Cate at the Fox and Goose, post-White Christmas viewing 12.23.10Afterwards, the four of us wandered over to Fox and Goose and had several pints while listening to Irish music. I much enjoyed my Sammy Smith Celebration ale. Gawd bless sammy smith!  Here’s the organizer’s cheery face as enjoy our pints. 

Happy New Years. I can’t wait for 2011 holiday season— I’m so going to a showing of It’s a Wonderful Life! If you find yourself in Sacramento, feel free to come along. Buy tickets ahead of time online, though. Trust me.

 

