A few years ago, I made over 600 Mexican wedding cookies for a friend of mine. You can read about it here.  I haven’t made a butter cookie since, but last night, I got into the mood to whip up a batch. I was going to make Mexican wedding cookies, but the thought of tossing even a dozen cookies in powdered sugar repeatedly drained the energy out of me.

Tonight, after the dog park, I took the dough out of the fridge and fashioned button cookies. They aren’t perfect, but not bad for the first batch. I need to work on the design a bit, but you gotta admit, they’re pretty cute.

I have more dough in the fridge, so I’ll make another attempt in a few days. Dough’s good in the fridge for at least a week and for months, if frozen. I used the recipe from the Mexican wedding cookie post (above), rolled the dough into logs, and wrapped them in plastic wrap to set up overnight in the fridge.  More on this soon.

Postscript: I inserted the link more for the recipe and the photos than for the text. However, I had to grin when I re-read it a few minutes ago. What a woman wants, eventually, she gets. We shall see. Stay tuned…

