You're making ice cream? Want, please

If you haven’t yet discovered David Lebovitz, go exploring. I used his german chocolate cake recipe last fall and after that, I was hooked.

For my birthday last week, I gave myself the Cuisinart 2 quart ice cream maker and Lebovitz’s book, Perfect Scoop (a friend also got me Lebovitz’s new book, Ready for Dessert…what to make, what to make). For the garden party last weekend, friends made batches of ice cream. After making my first batch, I feel even more loved knowing the time they spent making their batches. Thank you, friends.

I began the process at 11 pm last night by roasting the almonds. I candied the cherries after steeping the almonds for an hour and then proceeded to make the custard. I allowed the custard to sit overnight in the fridge until 11.30 am when I dropped it into my lovely new machine. I’ll admit—I watched it thicken. I taste tested. I swooned (nearly).

The consistency is spot on. The hint of almond is infused, lovely. To the custard, more roasted almonds and the candied cherries were mixed in and then…off to the freezer we go! I think it’s going to be a big hit at the bbq this afternoon.

Candied cherry & roasted almond custard ice cream…in pictures…

making the candied cherries
Steeping roasted almonds in milk & sugar
Candied cherries and roasted almonds on top of the ice cream
candied cherry & roasted almond ice cream headed to the freezer
