About two years ago or so, I began making a serious attempt to hunt down the veggie burger recipe from the Zephyr Cafe in Kent Ohio (now defunct as a resturaunt). Many of my friends worked at the Zephyr  over the years (before, during, and after my tenure).  I recently put a request out on Facebook, and here’s what we came up with….

UPDATE OCTOBER 1, 2009

ABBY FOUND THE RECIPE!!!! Additional recipes follow at end of blog post.

From Abby: OMG, I found it: Now, I hope you will all support me in this because I feel a little “dirty” about having the recipe in the first place. It seems a shame though to never be able to have one again so here goes:

Zephyr Burgers

10 cups oats
2 cups bulghar
3 cups sunflower seeds
5 cups tvp
6 cups boiling H2o
thyme, basil, pepper, egg, flour (didn’t seem to think measurements were important or I was in a big hurry)

_________________________________________________________________

The intel on the Zephyr burger recipe:

It’s a modified Moosewood recipe (similar to the one below) but instead of mushrooms and pecans, you could use just about anything.

Mushroom Pecan Burgers:
http://www.moosewoodrestaurant.com/recipes_archive.html#26

Some tips from past cooks:

1. we used to crack an egg into it for a little more binder. This we all agree on.
2. we agree that brown rice, some millet, bulgar, sunflower seeds, TVP, and rolled oats were involved. We all agree that it was mostly the brown rice and millet that made it hearty. None of us remember using tofu (the moosewood recipe calls for it).
3. The burger mixture was seasoned with thyme, basil, and black pepper.

I say we  do some experimenting and see how it goes. Feel free to post comment with your results…

Postscript: Jolene, this post is for you.


Sundried Tomato Vinaigrette (from Abby)

Okay..I kid you not: written on a kitchen check is the sundried tom vin. dressing: good luck dividing!
1 1/2 cups blanched sundr. tom in water and minced
1 1/2 cup olive oil
2 Cups red wine vinegar
1 cup o.j.
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp cayenne
1/2 cup tamari
2 TBSP salt
1/2 head minced garlic
2-4 TBSP dry mustard


