From the wings (JIG 2009)
From the wings (JIG 2009)

July 1, 2009

Life events are only moments in time which we often move through, not participate in. In my life, more often than not, it’s the little moments that leave me feeling warm and inspired. On a few occasions, such as tonight, I can add, that I am humbled by the events.

I had planned to attend the Richard Thompson all-request performance tonight at the 24th Street Theatre. I had not planned on having the best seat in the house.

The backstory: My friend Steve and his business partner Mindy make up the local production company, Swell Productions. I know Steve from the dog park (he has two amazing golden retreivers, who are awesome). Originally, I’d offered to loan my aircard and laptop (no internet was available in the theatre); yesterday afternoon, Steve asked me if I’d be willing to sit off stage and snag the lyrics off the net for RT. Sure, why not?  It sounded fun, interesting.

If you are not familiar with Richard Thompson, google him.

My interaction with him was humbling. After introductions before the show, he called the production staff by name (I was surprised by this). There was some nice banter between us during the show and before the encores, he had me out on stage for a bow and wave to the crowd.

The show: Before the show, audience members wrote their song request and dropped it in a basket on the stage. During the show, RT pulled these slips out and made comments about them. His stage banter was right on and humorous. The accent helps.

Listening to this singer/songwriter, I was comforted by his voice and mesmerized by his guitar mastery. Inspiring. I was stunned that one man performing with a single guitar could fill the theatre with such depth of musical sound. Fascinating. Yes, perhaps the word to describe the entire evening—fascinating.

The set list for tonight’s show is posted below. I’ve placed an asterisk next to the songs that struck me the hardest. I missed the second-to-last song title as I was busy locating a song lyric (which alluded me—invisible minds).

Before tonight, I’d only heard a few of his songs, played for me by my friend, Chris. Having seen the show, Richard Thompson should be added to anyone’s performers life list. You will not be disappointed.

Steve, it was a true pleasure to help out—a great night and one I will remember for a very long time. I walked the block and a half home carrying an autographed poster, smiling, and thinking how strange and interesting life can be.

Set list for the 7.1.09 All request RT show:
substitute
*walking on a wire
Bonny Bell (?)— NE Scotland traditional song… Read more
Streets of Paradise
Crazy Man Michael
PS I love you (beatles)
*Persuasion
Guns are the tongues
Al Bowlly’s in Heaven
How Many Times
*Easy There, Steady Now
*The Poor Ditching Boy
*1952 Vincent
Tam Lin (fairport convention)
What’s Hip
Hand of Kindness
*Dimming of the Day
Dad’s Gonna kill me
1st encorse: Shoot out the Lights
(unknown… busy looking for a lyric)
*2nd encore: Gethesemane
hey Joe ( hendrix)

The video below is a 2009 performance of Persuasion. Lyrics follow. Linked or not for RT, the song immediately evoked images from one of my favorite novels by Jane Austen. Enjoy.


(March 13, 2009 in Florida)

You and I, tempted by the promise of a different life
Time has fled, there’s a constant battle running through my head
I don’t know what to do…’cos I still believe
After all the foolish things you put me through
I could always make a start on something new
And I’ve alway been a man who’s open to
Persuasion

Blind romance, there’ll be no half measures given half a chance
But we never learn, trusting in the fire while the cruel flame burns
And we need to rebuild what was never there
What got left behind
After all the foolish things that we’ve been through
I could always make a start on something new
And I’ll always be a man who’s open to
Persuasion

And it’s written in my heart so that everybody can see it
And it’s written in my soul, after all I still believe it
I still believe it
I still believe it
I still believe it
I still believe it

I don’t know what to do…’cos I still believe
After all the foolish things you put me through
I could always make a start on something new
And I’ll always be a man who’s open to
Persuasion – Persuasion

