Errr, umm, i don’t really think so, but it sounded like a catchy title and today, I’m feeling superhero happy as the wind gusts about me. Rather intense wind gusts, these are. You know the kind—billowing curtains, rustling papers off the mantle, knocking over flower pots here and there, blowing your hair this way and that.

Siddhartha, who is NOT an air sign (he’s an earth sign) is freaking out. Poor little guy. He does not like windy days/nights. He is becoming a bit of a nervous nelly, as he always does, and I’m touched to see that Sky Harbor is nuzzling him, checking in on him, each time he jumps up as the wind gushes around him/slams a door, etc. Sky, who is generally more sensitive to noise (awesome ears on this girl makes her a wonderful house guardian), does not seem at all bothered by the wind. She’s like me in this regard.

I’ve had a lovely day and it’s not quite over yet. I woke early, putzed, then rang up Megan to invite her to the farmer’s market. It was her first trip and I hope, not her last. You’ve read my rants before on the WX farmer’s market. I got a large bag of oranges, brussel sprouts, kale, carrots, on and on. I also picked up two plants from Jannell (all things wild native nursery) with an order for a few more next Sunday. It’s always good to see her and of course, i’m a complete nut for her native plants! Today’s special find was a golden currant—a shade loving, berry producing, native that will reside in the back yard by the deck.

After the market, we headed over to Green Acres nursery where I loaded up on veggies, shade loving perennials, and sun/part sun ground covers (lemon/creeping thyme and verbena). The ground covers will be planted along the flagstone path in the front yard. More on plants below. I had a lot of fun with Megan—she’s easy going and sets me at ease. She didn’t mind wandering around the nursery and was helpful at keeping me in check. Megan if you’re reading this, yes, i recognize that i purchased a gizzilon plants today, but truly, left to my own devices, i would have purchased MORE. Not that we would have had room for them in the Jeep, but I would have attempted to stuff more into it!

I’ll be blogging a lot this week, I hope, so put on your reading shoes, friends, and come along as I tend to the back gardens for the first time in long time. The back garden will be my primary focus, though I’ve got equally big plans for the front. The difference: the front yard’s natives and drought tolerant landscape has been nurtured along over the last two years. The back has been mostly ignored. A few attempts at a veggie garden have been made, but they’ve been rather unsuccessful. This week, it’s all about re-designing the back yard’s hardscape and planting beds to make more appropriate use of the space. The fig tree provides so much shade, getting things to grow has been difficult. I’ve just now gotten my paws on some true full-shade/moderate shade native plants which will be going in along the fence and around the deck.

The goal, of course, is to have the backyard become a fully edible yard. I’ve made some good improvements to date, but this summer, I hope, it will become a dream realised.

Along side the house (between the neighbor’s garage and my house), I’ve got a combination of salivas and hybridized strawberry plants. It’s my intent to have the strawberries become ground cover on either side of the mexican blue rock path (which contains the french drain underneath) with the salivas offering a bit of height/color.

While it will not occur this week, long term, I hope to have a hot/cold water line installed in this area so that my dream of having a proper outdoor shower will be realised. While at the front of the house, a new privacy fence will screen an already private corner of the yard. Lastly, a hot water tap would be awesome for bathing the pups in winter after long muddy park runs. Who am i kidding? I should say pup, as Siddhartha avoids the large puddles (for the most part) while Sky Harbor feels it is her DESTINY to become a chocolate lab, if in appearance only. A stinky chocolate lab, I might add. This winter, the girl received a shower outside in the front yard nearly every night.

Ummm, here’s the wind again. Blowing over the 64 gallon recycling canister. I’ve just heard it turn over in the alley. Okay, off to pick up recyling then off to the dog park with the little black beasts. Then? I think I shall either catch up on recently tevo-d movies/shows while knitting, or perhaps I’ll spend some time spinning up a few mixes…

Love you to all. Keep eyes posted for garden pics!

Postscript: Upon reflection, Air signs MAY have more fun! Photos taken at 2 hour dog park session this afternoon.

The big white wolfish dog is Tahoe who luvs Sky Harbor. He drags her all Caveman-style around the park, mounts her (both fixed), and pretty much has his way with her whenever. As you can see, she’s clearly distressed. FLIRT. Siddhartha, on the other hand, spends his time either wandering in the back forty, eating sticks, more more likely, flirting with humans. He is shameless, and I’d have it no other way. We’re home now. Everyone is curled up after supper, snoozing. Ah, peace begins at home and love begins with you, indeed.

Playing with Otter. Missed the shot of her and Sky Harbor playing tug of war.
Playing with Otter. Missed the shot of her and Sky Harbor playing tug of war.
Tahoe luvin' on Sky Harbor. She is clearly bothered by the attention.
Tahoe luvin' on Sky Harbor. She is clearly bothered by the attention.
Caveman back of neck move.
Caveman back of neck move.

dscf1939

Siddhartha getting love/being a flirt with Otter's owner.
Siddhartha getting love/being a flirt with Otter's owner.
