A few of my favorite things!
A few of my favorite things!
 
My new drink of choice (Dark and Stormy)
My new drink of choice (Dark and Stormy)
Dark and Stormies
Apparently, Ernest Hemingway’s drink. Gosling’s black seal rum, ginger beer, and a twist of lime. Poured over ice in a highball. This is my new favorite drink… so incredibly YUMMY. As a matter of a fact, having one right now. Thank you to Carrie and Arun for introducing this lovely drink to me!!!
Pumpkin Crisp Recipe
For a friend’s birthday back in late October, I experimented tweaking a pumpkin crisp recipe. See, every year, I make many, many pumpkin pies. I carefully make the crusts from scratch and watch as everyone (myself included) eats the filling and leaves the crust.

Julie suggested I make a pumpkin crisp. I hunted down a few recipes and ended up with my recipe below. The only change I may make from here on out: apple slice bottom (more on that some other day).

Prep: Preheat oven to 350F; bake 45-50 minutes until center comes out clean.
Makes one crisp using a 10 inch spring pan. Sides and bottom lined with parchment paper and parchment paper.

Ingredients:

Blend the following: 29 oz can of pumpkin (or bake down/puree your own), 1 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. mace, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. cloves, pinch of nutmeg.

Add: 3 eggs to the mixture and blend well; add 1 tsp. vanilla and 3/4 cup evaporated milk. Pour into the prepared spring form pan.

Topping: 3/4 cup brown sugar (dark preferred), 3/4 cup quick oats, 1/4 cup old fashion (for texture, if you have it), 2 TBSP flour; and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Cut in 4 tablespoon cold butter until mixture has small-pea sized clumps. Sprinkle on top of pumpkin mixture in springform pan.

Once out of the oven, allow crisp to cool for 30 minutes. Run knife between the pan and the parchment paper to loosen it from the pan. Remove spring pan and allow it to cool an additional two hours before trimming the parchment paper and slipping the crisp onto a serving dish.

Pumpkin crisp going into the oven
Pumpkin crisp going into the oven

 For the Thanksgiving holiday in Philadelphia, I altered the recipe yet again— adding 2 sliced apples tossed in brown sugar as a “crust”

Pumpkin crisp out of oven. Philadelphia 2008
Pumpkin crisp out of oven. Philadelphia 2008
