Oh! I almost forgot!! I’ve been wandering around the last week thinking I’m about to miss an important meeting, etc. Then it hit me—-tonight begins the Perseid meteor shower with peak tomorrow night (wednesday morning, 1:30 am)!!! Check out the northeast sky, get away from light pollution, if you can. If you can’t, don’t fret, it’s a great show and easily visible with some light pollution.

This meteor shower is important to me—I left Philadelphia 10 years ago yesterday so that I could make it back to Ohio to see the show. It’s a great producer and I hear it rivals the December show (though, i’ve never seen that one… always forget!)

Four or five years ago, I don’t remember which (this marks progress), I went at 2 am to wake up an engineer friend of mine, banging on his door until he finally answered. Sleepy and a bit grumpy, he threw on clothes knowing that I wouldn’t take no for an answer. I dragged him out to nowhere Solano County and we laid there on a blanket in the middle of a field for hours oohing and awing at the shooting stars until we got sleepy just before dawn. We snuggled down in the blankets before I broke out the hot oatmeal (with currants, of course) and coffee I’d brought along in thermoses. Re-inspired, we got up and headed to work down in the valley. I don’t know where that engineer is now, but I have to grin at my determination, banging on his door until he answered.

Moments like these are not to be slept through! Here’s to wishing on falling stars. May all your wishes come true. HAVE FUN EVERYBODY!!!! I leave you with one of my favorite poems, which I always think of on these August nights:

Summons
Keep me from going to sleep too soon
Or if I go to sleep too soon,
Come wake me up. Come any hour
of night. Come whistling up the road.
Stomp on the porch. Bang on the door.
Make me get of bed and come
and let you in and light a light.
Tell me the Northern Lights are on
and make me look. Or tell me the clouds
are doing something to the moon
they never did before, and show me.
See that I see. Take me till
I’m half as wide awake (as you are)
and start to dress wondering why
I ever went to bed at all.
Tell me the walking is superb.
Not only tell me but persuade me.
You know I’m not too hard to persuade.

Robert Francis (copied from Karyn’s fridge, farmhouse, Ravenna OH, 1998)

