to check the mail….

this arrives. Is this the universe cheering me on (i.e., encouraging me to take time for myself and MAKE something for myself) or thumbing its nose at me for all the work I have to do this week? NOT TO MENTION the fact that I’m nearly mid-way through the new Aran sweater at the moment.

But I couldn’t resist… I opened the box… Pandora’s box…
The yarn that inspired several months of back and forth “should I buy/should I not by for myself ” has arrived !!! Along with three new sets of circulars (longer 24″ size 3 and 4 and size 1 16″ circulars). I also got two different kinds of green to double strand a lovely cardigan for Einah for christmas alpaca/merino blended…

Hmmm. Knit myself a cute summer cardigan (the obnoxious pink/orange yellow combo cotton yarn) or work on the engineering specifications that I’ve been pouring over, editing all day long (mind numb…… thinking… thinking…) AND the Sox are on in like 15 minutes….

 grrrr……

Who am I kidding? No one. Hands down, the yarn wins. Making one item for myself shouldn’t totally upset my knitting schedule for christmas presents all that much… right?

July 4, 2007
Well, I played with the yarn and frogged what I began (the sleeve) and now have begun on the body. It’s an interesting pattern as the entire body is knit sideways and in one piece. Huh? Yeah, that’s what I said too. You can understand why I decided to start with a sleeve. I’ve set the sleeve aside and returned to the body and have only four inches to show for today’s efforts. I was slow today, lost in thoughts (all good and day dreamy), wandering around the neighborhood on walks with the dog or sitting out back listening to the Sox game. I pulled out the kiddie pool and after a dip, I found it to be the perfect compliment to the dry heat of this July 4th. Even the pets enjoyed a dip; yes, even the dog.

 The yarn looks very garish under indoor lighting but shines (literally) with the bubblegum hues of my favorite colours when viewed in natural light. Hmm. Either way, it is super soft and will be incredibly comfy. Just what I need for a summer sweater. I was hoping I could rock it out before my Nacimiento trip next week…. would be perfect for central coast nights. If not, I will have it with me for the August girls getaway trip to central coast…

 JIG

