Well, it has been a very productive weekend! The sweater is finished and no matter how I shoot it, I can’t seem to get a picture that shows it well. I guess that’s just one of those things… best viewed in person. This is my second pullover (the first was a child’s Aran) and the first one I designed myself. I’m really happy with it — I was so meticulous when knitting it, I don’t think there is anything I’d go back and do over…

Begun late February, took a month off, and finished today. Roughly six weeks, excluding the month I took off from knitting on it. I kept the pattern, may subsitute a few designs and start another one here in a few weeks. Knit on size 8 needles, Bartlett Maine wool (bracken), 7.5 skeins (1500 yards). And so, now, I will wrap it up in plastic, put it in a box and wait for Christmas time to ship it off to SC for my uncle.


Front with sleeve detail


Back


Front


True colour…

 and how it all began…

 

February 28, 2007

After a year of knitting, a few trial and errors here and there, I’ve moved onto the next step: a pullover for my uncle. It is of my own design, knitted on size 4 and size 8 needles with Bartlett Maine wool (bracken). I like this yarn a lot as it is slightly scratchy (emphasis upon slightly), holds the fisherman designs nicely, and is a lovely olive green with a bit of flecking. And so, it begins. I’ll keep updating the blog as I progress….

March 3, 2007

Update…small error on the left side chain/knot, but this is the back and low on the back at that. Hoping it isn’t super noticeable…

March 11, 2007

10 more rows and the back is done! I have not designed the arms yet, so i think i’ll start on the front next. Might as well get the other big piece out of the way…

April 15, 2007

Well, kids, big news. the front is done and so is one of the two sleeves. The second sleeve is on the sticks–about 18 more inches to go on that one. I’ve sort of hit a wall on it, actually. So bloody tired of working the same pattern, over and over again. Christ. However, I have forbid myself to work on any other knitting until the sweater is done.

So, in true Geminian word twisting, I’ve simply not knitted and abandoned the sleeve for other projects… a collage of old photos are now beautifully framed in an old window frame (clear plastic adhesive backed picture corners are awesome) and I’ve been working on a quilt for a friend of mine all weekend long (yes, Sheri, your quilt. It is nearly done. And I’ll guarantee it will be done before the sleeve….) Bill, if you read this, i kept the feet in the picture just for you. hahaha.

Here’s a pic of Sweetpea I’ve been meaning to add to this blog. Is my cat that fat or is the sweater that small? hahahaha. If you’ve met my cat, you’ll know the answer to that….

Love to all. JIG

Postscript:
I sent the sweater off at the beginning of December for my Uncle’s birthday. He was extremely touched. The arms were slightly too long but one turn of the cuff and it fit like a dream. To say I was thrilled was an understatement. There was a lot of thought put into designing the sweater. I’m feeling more confident now that both this and Einah’s sweaters were big successes.  Love to all. JIG

