Category: slightly disgruntled with Wind

As most of you know, I am not a “shopper” unless it involves purchases for Wildlands at flea markets, native nurseries, junk stores, Home Depot, or picking up essentials at the Sunday market or the used record store. Every once in a while, i get a bee in my bonnet and drop serious cash at the yarn shoppe or favorite shoe store. However, today, after last night, I needed some serious retail therapy…

I cooed yesterday about fall. I mentioned wind. What i didn’t say explicitly, is that i have a long and lusty relationship with Wind. I love it. I am excited and made giddy by windy gusts. HOWEVER, at a certain point, wind stops being fun and i’m reminded of its sheer power. And you know, it takes a lot for me to fess up that Wind did me wrong. And well, Wind has done me wrong.

Last night was a long night. Fall announced itself strongly… the darkness filled with gusty winds, bangs, clangs, and nervous pets. Siddhartha couldn’t have been more on edge and i’m shocked at how close he stayed. He whimpered, jumped, and generally freaked out for the majority of the night. He licked my face. Siddhartha doesn’t like to give dog kisses and I generally don’t like to receive them, but when he’s scared or super duper happy, he gives me kisses. I got a lot o’ kisses last night and it had NOTHIN’ to do with happiness. The cat behaved similarly and overall, i got very little sleep.

I went out this morning to find the back yard in shambles. Wood, neatly stacked against the privacy fence was scattered like straws. Two of the large (9 pane) windows had been blown over and their panes were shattered by an adirondack chair and a buddha sculpture. The image of the window pane broken around the neck of my Buddha head sculpture was a bit unnerving. At least that explains the sound of breaking glass i heard last night. The doors to my potting shed were blown open and off their hinges. They were found under the fig tree this morning. Nice. My very sturdy privacy fence had become dislodged from its posts and I spent a good hour with a sledge hammer, knocking it back in line and re-fastening it. Yes, all of this before i had sucked down any coffee.

So, my weekend plans have changed. Those lovely windows i’ve been yapping about now have additional tasks associated with them before I re-install them into their frames. More than likely, it includes me going over to the glass shoppe, getting special sized pieces cut (the windows are from the 1920s, and so, I can’t pick up standard panes from HD), and then playing with window glaze. Looks like I’ll be re-building the potting shed doors too. LUVELY. I can’t wait. I’m breathless with anticipation.

The upside…the gusts caused most of the figs to fall from the tree…so, i just collected about three dozen figs, which i will happily munch on this weekend. Dido for the little plums…they are now scattered all over my deck, making it a colourful medley of pink, red, and yellows.

The wind is roaring through the trees and gusts are slamming doors around here. About every 10 minutes the back door (which currently does not have its lock assemblage in place…as I’ve got two more coats to put on the door before I do so) thumps loudly. WHACK. Dog jumps. Cat’s ears go back. Siddy looks exhausted. The cat is actually under the futon in the media room…and she’s not a hide-under-furniture-kinda-cat. Siddy just whimpered and has this really worried look. Poor dog.

Go ahead and laugh. I am. I find all of this amazingly amusing in that sick Murphy’s law sorta way. Me and Murphy are old friends and the wind apparently felt the need to smack me on the bum, just for fun, to remind me he’s still alive and kickin’…The sun is shining and the skies are blue. So, for my wind angst, CostPlus got 120.00  bucks out of me for a new beautiful rug (media room) and beautiful comforter/quilt (for the studio). I feel better. The rug looks stunning…

Okay, wind here i come…JIG

2 Comments – 0 Kudos – Add CommentEditRemove

otherbrother

retail therapy is good therapy. i’d help you re-glaze those windows if i could…. i’m a pro at that shit

Posted by otherbrother on Friday, September 22, 2006 at 4:57 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

laura becomes eclectic

Reminded me of this passage…

1 Kings 19:11-13

 11 The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by.”
      Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Posted by laura becomes eclectic on Friday, September 29, 2006 at 6:02 PM

