JET-PUFFED marshmallow creme fudge recipe

Last week, G dropped by Wildlands on her way to the corner market. She checked out the new fence, loved on the dogs, and mentioned she’d be heading back to Louisiana soon. This will be her second trip to the gulf coast for work and I wanted to send her off with her favorite treat. But what was her favorite treat?

She told me she’d love some “crunchy” fudge. I looked up fudge recipes and began experimenting, but not knowing a lot about fudge (as a maker or sampler), I was looking at recipes like this one. I did some follow-up with G who said, “don’t over think it! It’s just the recipe on the back of the marshmallow fluff container.”

Well, readers, that is one item that’s never (in my tenure) come through Wildlands’ front door but I gotta admit—the container makes me smile–SHATTERPROOF JAR! Perfect. We like those sort of jars in this household.

And so, I followed the recipe on the back of the shatterproof jar, making a few alterations, starting with increasing the recipe by 1/4 to fill a 9″x12″ container.

Fantasy Fudge

Prep time: 10 minutes. Total: 25 minutes, Makes 3lb or 40 servings, about 2 squares each

3 c. sugar

3/4 c. butter or margarine

1 small can (5 oz) evaporated milk (about 2/3 cup). Do not use sweetened condensed milk).

1 1/2 PKG (12 squares) BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Chocolate, chopped (I used 12 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips)

1/2 jar or 3/4 c. (13 oz) JET-PUFFED Marshmallow Creme

1 c. chopped PLANTERS Walnuts (I used toasted sliced almonds)

1 tsp. vanilla

Line 9-inch square pan with foil with ends of foil extending over sides of pan; set aside. (I used parchment paper). Place sugar, butter and evaporated milk in a large heavy saucepan. Bring to full rolling boil on medium heat, stirring constantly. Boil 4 min. or until candy thermometer reaches 234 F, stirring constantly to prevent scorching. Remove from heat.

ADD chocolate and marshmallow creme; stir until completely melted. Add walnuts and vanilla; mix well.

POUR immediately into prepared pan; spread to form even layer in pan. Let stand at room temperature 4 hours or until completely cooled; cut into 1-inch squares. Store in tightly covered container at room temperature.

_______________________

I dropped off the fudge at G’s house earlier this evening; she texted a little later to say, “it’s perfect!” which made my night. I’d tasted a small sample (that’s I’d made using a circular form) and it was pretty good.

A decorated blue light tree in an abandoned lot

Jerome, AZ

The last time I had fudge, it was from a shoppe in Jerome, AZ  on the last  leg of my cross-country winter road trip. Einah was with me and she purchased four or five different kinds. I am now more curious about fudge and think I’ll start experimenting with a few different recipes, you know, in all my spare time.

But for now, the fact that G liked this batch— that’s all that matters. She’s a good egg and deserves a bit of home while she’s working in Louisiana. Travel safe, G, and see you in a few weeks! xo

6 thoughts on “JET-PUFFED marshmallow creme fudge recipe

  1. I have a 4lb. bag of chocolate chips. How many ozs of chips go in kraft jet-puffed fudge???? Help I’m ready to make it

    Wovensunshine says: I used 12 oz of chocolate chips or 1 1/4 c. of chips.

  2. I have been looking for a Jet Puff recipe with chips
    Our store carries dark chips which are to die for and I want to make your recipe with them as well as cranberry, oatmeal, walnut, cc cookies……………both recipes for ladies at a contract mail station where I get my mail. They are so much help during the year.

    Wovensunshine says: the cranberry, oatmeal, walnut, cc cookies sound great… care to share your recipe?? Thanks for leaving a comment and Happy Holidays!!

  3. Perfect. I didn’t have the ‘shatterproof’ Jet -puffed creme…I bought a cheaper version and didn’t have the recipe. I’ll be trying this tonight! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

